Located north of Sydney in NSW, the Hunter region encompasses approximately 34,500 square kilometres and includes 11 Local Government Authorities (LGAs), with various land use patterns, industries and population centres. The region may be further divided into four distinct areas based on landform, land use and floristic patterns:

  1. The Lower Hunter - Cessnock, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Newcastle and Port Stephens LGAs,
  2. Central Coast region comprising of the area of operation of the Central Coast Council (formerly Gosford  & Wyong Councils),
  3. Mid North Coast region comprising the area of operation of MidCoast Council (formerly Gloucester, Greater Taree and Great Lakes LGAs) and,
  4. The Upper Hunter region comprising of Singleton, Muswellbrook and Upper Hunter LGAs (Upper Hunter Weeds Authority)


Hunter Regional Weeds- A regional partnership for consistent and effective management of weeds

Our aim is to promote cooperative regional partnerships for the consistent and effective management of weeds in the Hunter, Mid North & Central Coast regions of NSW.

The objectives of the team are to help deliver a strategic and realistic approach to the management of invasive plant species.

 The team at Hunter Regional Weeds strives to:-

      • promote understanding of the causes of weed dispersal, invasion and establishment,
      • promote integrated strategies for control,
      • develop,  initiate and co-ordinate the delivery of collaborative, multi-stakeholder on-ground regional weed management projects, and to
      • engage, inform and educate the community in a better understanding of the importance of weed management.